Learning how to dress for the working world.

When I attended primary school, we wore uniforms. Of course the students tried to get around the fact that we looked like a frumpy army of catholic school girls by rolling up our skirts and unbuttoning our polos one button further than needed. The school explained that the uniforms were to create a safe environment for the students; but by prohibiting me from wearing clothes of my choice, I was unable to understand what correct attire was when I got into the working world. The school was a college preparatory school. Their goal is to educate us for higher education and prepare us for a successful career, but I felt restricting our choice of clothing was more of a disability than anything.

Anyway, I get to college and there are no rules as to what you can’t wear as long as you aren’t struttin’ around in your birthday suit. So, for the first time in my life I do not have to conform to any certain apparel. I can wear whatever fashion my heart desires. However, this is also not realistic to what it’s like in the working world.

The first internship I had, I walked in wearing jean shorts and a form fitted t-shirt. They didn’t tell me there was a dress code and it gets really hot in the summertime! By the end of the day I got an email from my boss kindly telling me to dress appropriately for the next day. I was so embarrassed! So, I have compiled some of my favorite business looks that might help you!

Trust me, first impressions are everything, especially for a job interview. You want to make sure you look appropriate, but you also don’t want to lose your sense of style! Quint Careers also has great advice on how to make sure you are dressed for success!

Trying to stay sane one day at a time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a comment

Ashley Godwin

Reporter and Multimedia Journalist

whataboutty

Live each day to inspire the lives of others.

Real Live Super Heroes...sorta

It's a bird! It's a plane! It's a blog about superhero movies!

Wedded Bliss 101

Something Borrowed, Something Blue, Wedding Planning is a GPA-killer, too

Books to Movies

Young adult book-turn-movie reviews and opinions

The Daily Sniff

Our noses to the ground in search of a home

Hippie-Vibes-Only

One World, One Life, One Peace, Plenty of Hippies out there

inthemixwithnews6

Behind The Scenes of "American Dreams"

Baby Got Bach

Without music, life would B-flat

The Fashion Chronicles

Where trendsetting meets devotion

MRS. ROGERS' HOLLYWOOD

GOING BEYOND THE TABLOIDS

A Woman's Place

Exploring the radical notion that women are people

| Our Humanity |

A Generational View of the World

ATTEMPTING TO ADULT

Finding a balance between having your life together & making sure no one sees you breaking down in the bathroom.